Due to the Coronavirus pandemic all meetings of the Palaeontographical Society, including the 173rd Annual General Meeting and the Society's Fourteenth Annual Lecture, which was to be given by Emeritus Professor Derek J. Siveter (University of Oxford), have been postponed until further notice. We hope everybody is staying safe and secure during these very difficult times.

The aim of this supplemental Newsletter is to update the members on the Society's business, and to let you know that it is still working behind the scenes via email and phone.

NEWSLETTER 36 SUPPLEMENTAL

1. Publications: Volume 174 is with the editors at present. Three parts for this volume are expected to published by the end of the year.

The Editors welcome suggestions for new titles and would also be grateful for manuscripts that represent concluding or additional parts of ongoing, unfinished monographs.

2. The Society's WebSite (www.palaeosoc.org) continues to be an effective tool for posting new information on the Society (including Members of Council, progress reports for Palaeontographical Society Research Grants and other announcements). The Society is also now on Facebook (facebook.com/ThePalaeontographicalSociety) and on Twitter (twitter.com/palaeonto_soc). Both can be found through the Palaeontographical Society website.

The Palaeontographical Society's online shop has now been closed. The monographs of the Palaeontographical Society can be located and brought from Taylor and Francis via a portal on our website.

The Society is in the process of updating the website. We hope to have the new front end design up and running by the end of the 2020.

- **3.** The Richard Owen Research Fund: The Society aims to provide awards in the region of £500 for research on the UK fossil flora and fauna. Please see our website or contact the Secretary (Dr Nigel R. Ainsworth at nigelainsworth@btinternet.com) for further information. The next closing date for applications is 28th February, 2021, and the successful applicant(s) will be announced at the AGM. Three grants were awarded in 2020:
 - Mr J. Benito Moreno (Milner Centre foe Evolution, University of Bath). Unravelling modern bird origins: re-evaluating two obscure British fossil birds using computerised tomography.
 - Mr S. Penn (School of the Earth, Geography and Geoscience, University of Portsmouth). The palaeontology of the Wealden Group of the Western Wessex Sub-basin, Dorset, England.
 - Dr E. Panciroli (Department of Earth Sciences, University of Oxford) and Dr S. Walsh (National Museums Scotland). Identifying the mystery dinosaur footprint from Scotland.
- **4. The Edward Forbes Prize:** The Society invites applications for the Edward Forbes Prize, which aims to recognize outstanding contributions by early career researchers in the field of taxonomic and systematic palaeontology (encompassing invertebrates, vertebrates, palaeobotany and microfossils). The Prize, which is to be awarded for publication excellence, comprises £250 and a one-year membership of the Society. The Prize will be awarded at the Society's Annual General Meeting each year. Full criteria for eligibility are posted on the Society's website. The Edward Forbes Prize was awarded in 2020 to:
 - Dr S. W. Evers (University of Freiburg, Switzerland) for his joint publication in *Peer J* (2019, 7:e6811 DOI 10.7717/peerj.6811) entitled the "Anatomy of *Rhinochelys pulchriceps* (Protostegidae) and marine adaptation during the early evolution of chelonioids".

We invite submissions for the 2021 award on the basis of any eligible article that was published in 2020. Applications should be addressed to the Secretary (<u>nigelainsworth@btinternet.com</u>) and must be received by the closing date of 28th February, 2021. The decision of the Prize Committee will be announced at the Society's AGM. The successful applicant will be informed in advance, so that they may attend the meeting if they wish.

5. The Palaeontographical Society Medal: Council has instigated an award, the Palaeontographical Society Medal, which is intended to recognize a sustained and important series of contributions to taxonomic and systematic palaeontology. It is presented once in any two year period. In particular, the Society seeks to honour those who have made an exceptional contribution to the micropalaeontology, palaeobotany, invertebrate or vertebrate palaeontology of the British Isles, including those who have applied these data to solve problems of palaeogeography, palaeoecology and phylogeny. Recipients will not be limited to palaeontologists based in the British Isles, although it is anticipated that this region will form an important element of their research programme.

The fourth award was to have been made at the Annual General Meeting in April 2020 to Professor Jennifer A. Clack (University of Cambridge). Most sadly, Jennifer passed away on March 26th, 2020, before she could receive the Palaeontographical Society Medal. She was an outstanding scientist who will be sadly missed by her family, friends and work colleagues.

It is anticipated that the fifth Palaeontographical Society Medal will be awarded in April 2022. The Council of the Society welcomes nominations and suggestions for future recipients of the Medal. Please contact the Secretary (<u>nigelainsworth@btinternet.com</u>).

6. Nominations for Council: The Palaeontographical Society is open for nominations to serve on Council for 2021–2024. The council meets twice a year, and is responsible for overseeing the running of the Society and for providing guidance on how it can best serve the needs of the membership. Any member of the Society can nominate a candidate and names will be considered at the AGM. Members can nominate a candidate by sending an e-mail to the Secretary (nigelainsworth@btinternet.com) together with a statement from the candidate that he/she is willing to be considered. A proposer and seconder are required, who must be current members of the Society.

COUNCIL 2020-2021

Professor P. N. Wyse-Jackson retired as Vice-President, and Dr B. Moon and Mr S. Wills retired as Members of Council. Professor J. A. Clack had also asked to leave Council due to illness in early March 2020 prior to the AGM in April, 2020.

Professor S. Evans has been nominated as a new Vice-President, and Drs N. Clark, L. Cotton and I. Rahman have been nominated as new Members of Council. These candidates will be elected onto Council by the end of June, unless the remaining Officers / Council Members of the Society hear otherwise.

President Professor S.K. Donovan

Vice-Presidents Professor C.J. Buttler and Professor S. Evans

Treasurer Dr T. McCormick Secretary Dr N.R. Ainsworth

Editors Dr Y. Candela and Dr P.R. Crowther

Publicity OfficerMs E. BernardWeb OfficerDr A. Butcher

Other Members Dr N. Clark, Dr L. Cotton, Dr S. Giles, Dr A. Liu, Dr E. Panciroli and Dr I. Rahman.